New-Stocker-Group-1191One of the most exciting aspects of working at the interface between fluid mechanics, microbial ecology and oceanography is the diverse toolset that can be brought to the table. This is reflected in the composition of our group, which includes engineers, physicists, microbiologists, and bioinformaticians. Interested in joining the group? Send us an email!

Roman Stocker
Principal Investigator
Research Focus: Fluid dynamics, environmental microfluidics, marine microbial ecology
Office: HIL G 37.3
romanstocker@ethz.ch
Joaquin Jimenez-Martinez
Research Affiliate - PI SEP Group
Research Focus: Transport and reaction phenomena in subsurface, multiphase systems, microfluidics and field-scale experimentation
Office: HIL G 35.2
jjimenez@ethz.ch
joaquin.jimenez@eawag.ch
https://sepgroup.ethz.ch/
Eleonora Secchi
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Optical techniques applied to flow visualization at the microscale, microfluidics, active suspension and biofilm
Office: HIL G 33.2
secchi@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://biom2.ethz.ch/
Francesco Carrara
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Statistical physics, theoretical ecology, biodiversity, experimental microcosms
Office: HIL G 36.2
carraraf@ethz.ch
Kang Soo Lee
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Single cell genomics with high-throughput microfluidic sorting
Office: HIL G 33.3
leeka@ethz.ch
Luiz da Silva
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Ecohydraulics, hydropower, fish and flow interactions, freshwater ecology, habitat modelling
Office: HIL G 35.2
lumartins@ethz.ch
https://biom2.ethz.ch/
Jonasz Slomka
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: BioEncounters - encounters between microorganisms in space and time
Office: HIL G 37.2
slomka@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://n.ethz.ch/~jslomka/
Uria Alcolombri
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Marine microbial ecology, ocean carbon cycle, marine snow degradation, biochemistry
Office: HIL G 37.2
alcolombri@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Matthias Willmann
Lecturer
Group Leader at Solexperts AG Lecturer at ETH Zurich
willmann@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://www.solexperts.com/en/home/
Russell Naisbit
Scientific Editor
Office: HIL G 37.2
naisbit@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://sites.google.com/site/albionscienceediting/home/
Elisabetta Vannoni Thäler
Scientific Program Manager (PriME)
Office: HIL G 33.3
evannoni@ethz.ch
Ela Burmeister
Lab Manager
Office: HIL G 37.1
elas@ethz.ch
Joëlle Robinson
Administrative Assistant
Office: HIL G 37.2
joeller@ethz.ch
Zachary Landry
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microbial ecology, resource partitioning, succession in microbial systems, advanced imaging
Office: HIF D 85.1
landry@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Francois Peaudecerf
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Physics of interfaces, microfluidics, bacteria-phytoplankton interactions, microbial ecology
Office: HIL G 36.2
peaudecerf@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://n.ethz.ch/~fpeaudec/
Johannes Keegstra
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microbial diversity, oceanic carbon cycle, growth and motility in oligotrophic environments
Office: HIL G 34.2
keegstra@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Samuel Charlton
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Soft matter, rheology and hydraulic resistance of multicellular bacterial communities
Office: HIF D 85.1
scharlton@ethz.ch
Clara Martinez-Pérez
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microbial oceanography, marine biogeochemistry, bacteria-phytoplankton interactions, single-cell activity rates, marine nitrogen fixation
Office: HIF D 85.2
martinez@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Stefano Ugolini
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microfabrication, microfluidic systems for studying cellular dynamics
Office: HIL G 34.2
gugolini@ethz.ch
Richard Henshaw
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus:
Office: HIL G 33.1
rhenshaw@ethz.ch
Frédéric de Schaetzen
PhD Student
Research Focus: Marine microbial ecology, species interactions, microbial diversity, insect ecology, imaging-based solution development
Office: HIL G 34.2
deschaetzen@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Dorothee Kurz
PhD Student
Research Focus: Microbiology and unsaturated porous media
Office: HIL G 33.1
kurz@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
http://sepgroup.ethz.ch/
Estelle Clerc
PhD Student
Research Focus: In situ microfluidics for marine microbial ecology and chemotaxis, microbial community dynamics
Office: HIL G 33.1
clerc@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Roberto Pioli
PhD Student
Research Focus: Bacterial single cell deposition, quantitative single-cell analysis, microbial interactions
Office: HIL G 33.3
pioli@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Juanita Lara Gutierrez
PhD Student
Research Focus: Bacterial physiology and systems biology
Office: HIL G 36.2
ljuanita@student.ethz.ch
Robert Naudascher
PhD Student
Research Focus: Fish in flow, anthropogenic habitat disturbance, hydro- and thermopeaking
Office: HIL G 34.1
naudascher@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Giovanni Savorana
PhD Student
Research Focus: Effects of flow on biofilm formation and bacterial transport, microfluidics
Office: HIL G 37.1
savorana@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Dieter Baumgartner
PhD Student
Research Focus: Marine Microbiology, quantitative single-cell analysis, quantitative phase imaging, tomographic imaging
Office: HIL G 37.1
baumgartner@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Oliver Müller
PhD Student
Research Focus: Metabolic size scaling, marine phytoplankton and phytoplankton-bacteria communities, quantitative single cell analysis, single cell activity and amp, mass measurements
Office: HIL G 34.2
mueller@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Patryk Nienaltowski
PhD Student
Research Focus: 3D tracking of microbes, quantitative phase imaging, bacteria-phytoplankton interactions, marine microbiology
patryk.nienaltowski@lynceetec.com
Maximillian Stoll
PhD Student
Research Focus: Chemotaxis in porous media, subsurface flow and transport
Office: HIL G 36.2
smaximilian@student.ethz.ch
Pratchaya Pramoj Na Ayutthaya
PhD Student
Research Focus: Bacterial chemotaxis and competition, plant-microbe interactions, single-cell bacteria technology
Office: HIL G 34.2
ppramoj@ethz.ch
Sophie Zweifel
PhD Student
Research Focus: Marine biochemistry, marine phytoplankton calcification/biomineralization, bacteria-phytoplankton interactions
Office: HIL G 36.2
szweife@ethz.ch
Riccardo Foffi
PhD Student
Research Focus: Bacterial movement ecology, chemotaxis, bacteria-phytoplankton interactions
Office: HIL G 33.3
rfoffi@ethz.ch
Edoardo Mollica
PhD Student
Research Focus: Phyllosphere microbiome, microfluidics, bacterial trapping and confinement on rough surfaces
Office: HIL G 33.1
emollica@ethz.ch
Matti Zbinden
PhD Student
Research Focus: Quantification of microbial encounters
Office: HIL G 33.3
mazbinden@ethz.ch

Former lab members

  • Jeanette Wheeler (Postdoc, now Assistant Professor at Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada)
  • Ulrike Pfreundt (Postdoc, now Co-Founder at rrreefs, Switzerland)
  • Cherry Gao (Ph.D. Student, now Research & Innovation Strategy at Asahi Quality & Innovation, Japan)
  • Jen Nguyen (Ph.D. Student, now Postdoc at MIT alm lab, Cambridge)
  • Noele Norris (Ph.D. Student, now Postdoc at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley)
  • Vicente Fernandez (Senior Researcher, now Vice President of Data Science at PhAST inc., Zurich)
  • Mehdi Salek (Postdoc, now Lead Instructor at MIT, Cambridge)
  • Lars Beherendt (Postdoc, now Associate Senior Lecturer/Assistant Professor at Uppsala University, Uppsala)
  • Bennett Lambert (Ph.D. Student, now Data Scientist at PIERER Innovation, Wels)
  • Anupam Sengupta (Postdoc, now Assistant Professor at University of Luxembourg)
  • Kwangmin Son (Postdoc, now Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer at PhAST, Boston)
  • Yutaka Yawata (Postdoc, now Associate Professor at University of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Roberto Rusconi (Senior Researcher, now Associate Professor at Humanitas University, Milan)
  • Douglas Richard Brumley (Postdoc, now Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics at University Melbourne)
  • Steve Smirga (Senior Researcher, now Senior Scientist, Biology Lead at PhAST, Boston)
  • Gabriel Juarez (Postdoc, now Assistant Professor at Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois)
  • Andrew Babbin (Postdoc, now Associate Professor at MIT, Cambridge)
  • Tanvir Ahmed (Ph.D. Student, now Assistant Professor at Bangladesh University)
  • Marcos (Ph.D. Student, now Associate Professor at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • William ‘Mack’ Durham (Ph.D. Student, now Senior Lecturer in Biological Physics at University of Sheffield)
  • King Yung Yick (Ph.D. Student, now working in Finance)
  • Kolja Kindler (postdoc, now group leader at the German Aerospace Center, Cologne)
  • John Taylor (Postdoc, now Professor at Cambridge University)
  • Arezoo Ardekani (Postdoc, now Professor at Purdue University, Indiana)
  • Justin Seymour (Postdoc, now Professor at the University of Technology Sydney)
  • Jeffrey Guasto (Postdoc, now Associate Professor at Tufts University, Massachusetts)
  • Hongchul Jang (postdoc, now engineer at Samsung Corp., Korea)
  • Michael Barry (Postdoc, now Senior Managing Engineer at Exponent, Massachusetts)