Stocker lab Winter 2015

One of the most exciting aspects of working at the interface between fluid mechanics, microbial ecology and oceanography is the diverse toolset that can be brought to the table. This is reflected in the composition of our group, which includes engineers, physicists, microbiologists, and bioinformaticians. Interested in joining the group? Send us an email!

Roman Stocker
Principal Investigator
Research Focus: Fluid dynamics, Environmental microfluidics, Marine microbial ecology
Office: HIL G 37.3
romanstocker@ethz.ch
Roberto Rusconi
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Biofilms, Bacterial motility and transport in the environment, Active suspensions, Microfluidics
Office: HIL G 35.2
rusconir@ethz.ch
http://rrusconi.scripts.mit.edu/webpage/
Matthias Willmann
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: groundwater, numerical modeling, stochastic modeling, (bio-)reactive transport, biofilms
Office: HIL G 35.2
willmann@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Steve Smriga
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Marine microbial ecology, Microscale hotspots, Bacteria-Phytoplankton interactions
Office: HIL G 33.1
smrigas@ethz.ch
Anupam Sengupta
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Phytoplankton in turbulence, Emergence and active mechanics in microbial systems, Thermofluidic technology
Office: HIL G 37.1
anupams@ethz.ch
http://sengupta.mit.edu/webpage/
Yutaka Yawata
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Behavioral drivers of microbial evolution, Bacterial chemotaxis, Biofilm dynamics
Office: HIL G 33.3
yyawata@ethz.ch
http://blog.livedoor.jp/yyawata/
Vicente Fernandez
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Bacterial chemotaxis, Bacterial turbulence, Coral dynamics, Microfluidics
Office: HIL G 33.1
fvicente@ethz.ch
Andrew Babbin
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Marine biogeochemistry, Nitrogen cycle dynamics; Aerobe/anaerobe interactions
ababbin@ethz.ch
Kwangmin Son
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Bacterial motility, Flagellar dynamics, Viral dynamics, Microfluidics, Advanced Imaging
kwangms@mit.edu
Lars Behrendt
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Photosynthesis and phototaxis, Coral symbiosis/ bacterial endosymbionts, Novel cultivation methods
Office: HIL G 37.1
belars@ethz.ch
M. Mehdi Salek
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microfluidics, Cell sorting, High-throughput microtechnology
Office: HIL G 36.2
salekm@ethz.ch
http://salek.mit.edu/
Douglas Richard Brumley
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microscale fluid dynamics of active transport processes around coral surfaces
Office: HIL G 33.3
brumleyd@ethz.ch
http://www.douglasbrumley.com/
Francesco Carrara
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Statistical physics; theoretical ecology; biodiversity; experimental microcosms
Office: HIL G 35.2
carraraf@ethz.ch
Kang Soo Lee
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Single cell genomics with high-throughput microfluidic sorting
Office: HIL G 33.3
leeka@ethz.ch
Jeanette Wheeler
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Experimental turbulence, Behavioral dynamics of plankton and larvae in flow
Office: HIL G 33.3
jwheeler@ethz.ch
https://sites.google.com/site/jaiwheeler/
Eleonora Secchi
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Optical techniques applied to flow visualization at the microscale, Microfluidics, Active suspension and Biofilm
Office: HIL G 36.2
secchi@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Jen Nguyen
PhD Student
Research Focus: Linking physiology and ecology of marine bacteria, Bacterial growth efficiency
Office: HIL G 33.1
nguyenje@ethz.ch
Bennett Lambert
PhD Student
Research Focus: Phytoplankton-bacteria interactions and in situ microfluidics for microbial ecology
Office: HIL G 33.1
lambertb@ethz.ch
https://blambert.mit.edu/
Cherry Gao
PhD Student
Research Focus: Linking the global sulfur cycle and microbial metabolism of DMSP in the ocean
Office: HIL G 33.1
cherryg@ethz.ch
Noele Norris
PhD student
Research Focus: Multi-gradient signal integration for bacterial chemotaxis, Microbial optimal foraging
Office: HIL G 33.3
norris@ethz.ch
Marius Floriancic
PhD student
Research Focus: low flow storage and drainage processes, physical properties of hillslope storage, experimental groundwater hydrology
Office: HIL G 36.2
floriancic@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Ela Burmeister
Lab Manager
Office: HIL G 37.1
elas@ethz.ch
Vera Löhle
Administrative Assistant
Office: HIL G 37.2
vloehle@ethz.ch
Mirella Rutz
Administrative Assistant temp.
Office: HIL G 37.2
rutz@org.chem.ethz.ch

 

  • Tanvir Ahmed (Ph.D. student, now faculty at BUET, Bangladesh)
  • Marcos (Ph.D. student, now faculty at NTU, Singapore)
  • William ‘Mack’ Durham (Ph.D. student, now lecturer at Oxford University)
  • King Yung Yick (Ph.D. student, now working in finance)
  • Kolja Kindler (postdoc, now group leader at the German Aerospace Center, Cologne)
  • John Taylor (postdoc, now lecturer at Cambridge University)
  • Arezoo Ardekani (postdoc, now faculty at University of Notre Dame)
  • Justin Seymour (postdoc, now senior research fellow at the University of Technology Sydney)
  • Jeffrey Guasto (postdoc, now assistant professor at Tufts University)
  • Hongchul Jang (postdoc, now engineer at Samsung Corp., Korea)
  • Michael Barry(postdoc, now associate at Exponent, Inc.)