New-Stocker-Group-1191One of the most exciting aspects of working at the interface between fluid mechanics, microbial ecology and oceanography is the diverse toolset that can be brought to the table. This is reflected in the composition of our group, which includes engineers, physicists, microbiologists, and bioinformaticians. Interested in joining the group? Send us an email!One of the most exciting aspects of working at the interface between fluid mechanics, microbial ecology and oceanography is the diverse toolset that can be brought to the table. This is reflected in the composition of our group, which includes engineers, physicists, microbiologists, and bioinformaticians. Interested in joining the group? Send us an email!

Roman Stocker
Principal Investigator
Research Focus: Fluid dynamics, Environmental microfluidics, Marine microbial ecology
Office: HIL G 37.3
romanstocker@ethz.ch
Joaquin Jimenez-Martinez
Research Affiliate - PI SEP Group
Research Focus: transport and reaction phenomena in subsurface, multiphase systems, microfluidics and field-scale experimentation
Office: HIL G 35.2
jjimenez@ethz.ch
joaquin.jimenez@eawag.ch
https://sepgroup.ethz.ch/
Matthias Willmann
Lecturer
willmann@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Eleonora Secchi
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Optical techniques applied to flow visualization at the microscale, Microfluidics, Active suspension and Biofilm
Office: HIL G 33.2
secchi@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://biom2.ethz.ch/
Francesco Carrara
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Statistical physics; theoretical ecology; biodiversity; experimental microcosms
Office: HIL G 36.2
carraraf@ethz.ch
Kang Soo Lee
Senior Researcher
Research Focus: Single cell genomics with high-throughput microfluidic sorting
Office: HIL G 33.3
leeka@ethz.ch
Luiz da Silva
Senior Researcher
Office: HIL G
lumartins@ethz.ch
Jeanette Wheeler
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Experimental turbulence, Behavioral dynamics of plankton and larvae in flow
Office: HIL G 33.3
jwheeler@ethz.ch
https://sites.google.com/site/jaiwheeler/
Uria Alcolombri
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Marine microbial ecology, Ocean carbon cycle, Marine snow degradation, Biochemistry
Office: HIL G 37.1
alcolombri@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Ulrike Pfreundt
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: microbial oceanography and environmental transcriptomics, marine nitrogen fixation, Trichodesmium colony formation, cyanobacterial genetics and ncRNAs
Office: HIL G 33.3
pfreundt@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Zachary Landry
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microbial ecology, resource partitioning, succession in microbial systems, advanced imaging
Office: HIL G 33.3
landry@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Francois Peaudecerf
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Physics of interfaces, Microfluidics, Algal-bacterial interactions, Microbial ecology
Office: HIL G 36.2
peaudecerf@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://n.ethz.ch/~fpeaudec/
Johannes Keegstra
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microbial diversity, oceanic carbon cycle, growth and motility in oligotrophic environments
Office: HIL G 34.2
keegstra@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Jonasz Slomka
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Mathematical modeling, self-aggregation in turbulent flows
Office: HIL G 33.3
slomka@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Samuel Charlton
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus:
Office: HIL G 36.2
scharlton@ethz.ch
Clara Martinez-Pérez
Postdoctoral Researcher
Research Focus: Microbial oceanography, marine biogeochemistry, algal-bacterial interactions, single-cell activity rates, marine nitrogen fixation
Office: HIL G 36.2
martinez@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Cherry Gao
PhD Student
Research Focus: Linking the global sulfur cycle and microbial metabolism of DMSP in the ocean
Office: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
cherryg@ethz.ch
Frédéric de Schaetzen
PhD Student
Research Focus: Marine microbial ecology, species interactions, microbial diversity, insect ecology, imaging-based solution development
Office: HIL G 34.2
deschaetzen@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Dorothee Kurz
PhD Student
Research Focus: Microbiology and unsaturated porous media
Office: HIL G 33.1
kurz@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
http://sepgroup.ethz.ch/
Estelle Clerc
PhD Student
Research Focus: In situ microfluidics for marine microbial ecology and chemotaxis, Microbial community dynamics
Office: HIL G 33.1
clerc@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Roberto Pioli
PhD Student
Research Focus: Bacterial single cell deposition; quantitative single-cell analysis; microbial interactions
Office: HIL G 33.3
pioli@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Juanita Lara Gutierrez
PhD Student
Research Focus: Bacterial physiology and systems biology
Office: HIL G 33.1
ljuanita@student.ethz.ch
Robert Naudascher
PhD Student
Research Focus: Fish in flow, Anthropogenic habitat disturbance, Hydro- and Thermopeaking
Office: HIL G 34.1
naudascher@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Giovanni Savorana
PhD Student
Research Focus:
Office: HIL G 37.1
savorana@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Dieter Baumgartner
PhD Student
Research Focus:
Office: HIL G 37.1
baumgartner@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Oliver Müller
PhD Student
Research Focus:
Office: HIL G 34.2
mueller@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
Russell Naisbit
Scientific Editor
Office: HIL G 37.2
naisbit@ifu.baug.ethz.ch
https://sites.google.com/site/albionscienceediting/home/
Ela Burmeister
Lab Manager
Office: HIL G 37.1
elas@ethz.ch
Joëlle Robinson
Administrative Assistant
Office: HIL G 37.2
joeller@ethz.ch

Former lab members

  • Ulrike Pfreundt (postdoc)
  • Cherry Gao (Ph.D. student, now data scientist at Edge Analytics and Dyno Therapeutics, Cambridge, USA)
  • Jen Nguyen (Ph.D. student, now postdoc at University of British Columbia in Vancouver)
  • Noele Norris (Ph.D. student, now postdoc at University of Michigan, Levin Research Group)
  • Vicente Fernandez (senior researcher, now Director of data science, PhAST inc.)
  • Mehdi Salek (postdoc, now instructor at MIT)
  • Lars Beherendt (postdoc, now associate senior lecturer at Uppsala University)
  • Bennett Lambert (Ph.D., now postdoc at University of Washington Seattle, School of Oceanography)
  • Anupam Sengupta (postdoc, now assistant professor at University of Luxembourg)
  • Kwangmin Son (postdoc, now CEO & Co-founder PhAST, US)
  • Yutaka Yawata (postdoc, now assistant professor with tenure track at University of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Roberto Rusconi (senior researcher, now associate professor at Humanitas University in Milan)
  • Douglas Richard Brumley (postdoc, now assistant professor at Melbourne University)
  • Steve Smirga (senior researcher, now at Finch Therapeutics, a microbiome startup in Boston)
  • Gabriel Juarez (postdoc, now assistant professor at Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois)
  • Andrew Babbin (postdoc, now assistant professor at MIT)
  • Tanvir Ahmed (Ph.D. student, now faculty at BUET, Bangladesh)
  • Marcos (Ph.D. student, now faculty at NTU, Singapore)
  • William ‘Mack’ Durham (Ph.D. student, now lecturer at University of Sheffield)
  • King Yung Yick (Ph.D. student, now working in finance)
  • Kolja Kindler (postdoc, now group leader at the German Aerospace Center, Cologne)
  • John Taylor (postdoc, now lecturer at Cambridge University)
  • Arezoo Ardekani (postdoc, now faculty at Purdue University)
  • Justin Seymour (postdoc, now senior research fellow at the University of Technology Sydney)
  • Jeffrey Guasto (postdoc, now assistant professor at Tufts University)
  • Hongchul Jang (postdoc, now engineer at Samsung Corp., Korea)
  • Michael Barry(postdoc, now associate at Exponent, Inc.)